Register    FAQ    Search

Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Balance - Evacuate vs Immobilize
PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:33 pm
Posts: 245
jojo mentioned this briefly in his balance thread from many months ago. A player should be able to evacuate an immobilized unit.

The reasoning is quite simple: In sealed, almost everyone would grab any immobilize debuff before grabbing an evacuate, and I think most people would agree that immobilize is a better card. Therefore, allowing a player to evacuate an immobilized unit would make evacuate slightly better and immobilize slightly worse, hence acting to balance the two cards.

However, there is the issue of an evac being played on the same turn as an immobilization. There will be, to my knowledge, a 50-50 chance of which gets played first.

Scenario One: The evac gets played first, the unit is evacuated, the immobilize is not played. I believe this is possible currently.

Scenario Two: The immobilize gets played first. Currently the evac will not work if the immobilize wins the coin flip. Are there any concerns of allowing an evac to be played after losing this coin-flip? Would the evacuater be upset that he evacuated an immobilized unit? Probably not because immobilized units usually get killed, and evacuation is usually used to save a troop. Would the immobilizer be upset that he used his card on a unit that was evacuated? Possibly, but he still succeeded in taking that unit out of the battle for two turns.

I don't think we need to be concerned that a player who used immobilize will be upset that it was used on an evacuated unit. The main reason is that the player who used evacuate, if using it in anticipation of an immobilize, had to guess correctly or risk wasting his evacuate.

The point of evacuate is to save a unit in trouble by returning him to your base. What unit could be more in trouble than an immobilized unit? Evacuate isn't a top notch card while immobilize is, so it should at the very least be allowed to counter-act an immobilize by returning a unit to your base.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

©2009 Bandera Games LLC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group